BACK to In the News


"Bridging the gap to a new look" - Frederick News Post, June 07, 2009

Frederick, Maryland

Originally published June 07, 2009

By Adam Behsudi
Frederick News-Post Staff

Volunteers converge on the Roddy Road covered bridge over Owens Creek near Thurmont early Saturday to replace the worn ribbed metal roofing with standing seam metal. The historic bridge was built in 1856. A local contractor, Fitzgerald’s Heavy Timber Construction, donated materials and labor to repair the picturesque structure. Roddy Road is one of three covered bridges in Frederick County, and one of just eight statewide.

(To download a PDF file listing the Roddy Road Bridge Roof Replacement Project sponsors and volunteers, click here.)

Click on images below to view at larger size.


Volunteers converge on the Roddy Road covered bridge over Owens Creek near Thurmont early Saturday to replace the worn ribbed metal roofing with standing seam metal. (Photo by Sam Yu)

Volunteers converge on the Roddy Road covered bridge over Owens Creek near Thurmont early Saturday to replace the worn ribbed metal roofing with standing seam metal. (Photo by Sam Yu)