Roddy Road Covered BridgeThurmont, Maryland
This project entailed the restoration of the 1856 covered bridge. This is one of eight covered bridges in the state of Maryland and the first of several bridge restoration projects for Fitzgerald’s Heavy Timber Construction, Inc. The project is unique because in 1992 after severe damage sustained by an oversize truck it was repaired in its entirety by volunteer local efforts donations. The bridge, which spans Owens Creek, is a single-span bridge featuring a King Post design and measures 45 feet in length. Following an accident which severely compromised the bridges structural integrity, volunteers urged state and county agencies to repair the bridge. Work on the bridge included: Repairing three top transverse beams which were shattered in the collision; replacing six knee braces in the lateral bracing system; replacing one corner post measuring 10” square x 14’ tall; replacing the framing as well as all the trim in the portals; and repainting and priming the entire bridge the following spring.
Later in 1995, Fitzgerald’s Heavy Timber Construction, Inc. was hired again for additional maintenance. Work included picking up the bridge, repairing all four corners by cutting both bottom cords, and splicing the old material with 4’-6’ of new material; providing modifications to stone work to allow for air space for timber preservation; and corrected the negative camber with adjustments in the new joinery.
FHTC again came to the aid of this bridge in 2009 by volunteering to install a new standing seam galvanized metal roof to replace the worn and damaged roofing surface.
Click on images below to view at larger size.